Speeding in a school zone is dangerous and is something that everyone should avoid. With kids running around, an accident can happen quickly and have disastrous consequences. Not only could you find yourself facing fines, points, a possible suspension of your license, and even increase your insurance premium, but an incident in a school zone could be life-changing for a child and their family.
Here at Fast Easy Ticket, we understand that sometimes accidents happen when you are behind the wheel. Sometimes you can be going a little over the speed limit without even realizing it. However, if this happens as you are going through a school zone and you are caught, you will need to contact a Florida ticket lawyer as soon as possible. An experienced speeding ticket lawyer in Florida will be able to help you to fight your Duval County speeding ticket and have every chance of minimizing the consequences of your infraction or even having the ticket completely overturned.
Continue reading to learn what you need if you are pulled over for driving above the speed limit in a school zone.
How Are Speed Limits Displayed And What Are They?
While speed limits posted in school zones and the means used to display them can be different from one place to the next, typically, the speed limit will be 20 mph. The boundaries of the school speed limit zone should be clearly identifiable. Signage should indicate where the boundaries start and end, as well as what times the limits are enforced. There should also be a flashing beacon in operation during times when the school zone speed limits are enforced.
What Are The Consequences?
Speeding in a school zone is not taken lightly in Florida and can have major consequences, depending on how fast you were going. For example, if you are going less than ten miles over the posted limit the fine is $50. On the other end of the scale, if you are going fifty miles an hour or more over the speed limit, the fine is $2,000! To ensure you reduce or eliminate these fees be sure to get in touch with an experienced speeding ticket in Florida as soon as possible to fight your Duval county traffic ticket and secure the best result from your case.
Can I Get Point On My License?
In addition to expensive fees, you may also be issued points on your license. If you are driving 15 miles per hour or more over the speeding limit, you could have three points added to your license, in addition to a $300 fine. Going sixteen or more miles per hour above the limit will earn you four points while an accident in a school zone could result in six points being added to your license and your license potentially being suspended.
Fight Your Case With The Help Of A Florida Ticket Lawyer From Fast Easy Ticket
At Fast Easy Ticket, our expert team of speeding ticket lawyers in Florida has helped countless people to successfully fight their Dival County speeding ticket in the courts and get a positive outcome from their case. If you have been caught speeding in a school zone, be sure to get in touch with a Flordia ticket lawyer here at Fast Easy Ticket as soon as possible. With the help of our team, you can be confident that you will get the best result possible from your case.